Fizan Compact 4 trekking poles

Currently I’m using the Black Diamond FL Z-Pole Trekking Pole. They are my 1st pair of poles brought 2 years back and has accompanied me through rough terrains. They have been abused, thrown down slopes and scrapped through rocks. If they had a mind of their own, I’m sure they would like to do the same to me. The shiny aspen gold trekking poles are now dull, scuffed up, it’s hand loops all frayed and certain metal parts are rusted.

Black Diamond FL Z-Pole

I absolutely love these trekking poles for a few reasons.

  • Lightweight (16.23oz or 460g for a pair)
  • Packs down small (Due to its Z pole design, great for air travel)
  • Quick adjustable length (Great for switching between ascent and descend)

Things I didn’t like about it

  • Small basket (Lost count of having to pull the poles out of mud or between small gaps between planks)
  • Adjustable length (Only 8 inch of adjustment is allowed. On steep ascents without roots to grip on, the poles’ shortest length isn’t short enough)
  • Design of basket (It has a small ‘C’ shaped cut out to allow the pole’s middle section to be held into place when the pole is folded down. Good design but in heavy vegetation, the corner of the cut out keeps hooking onto small roots or branches)
  • Basket wears out easily (Due to its small size and thickness)
  • Hand grips (They are design to be ergonomic, however I find them too narrow for comfort)

Preparing for the next trek I’ve been looking around for a replacement. They should satisfy a few criteria.

  • Lighter than my current poles
  • A conventional basket design of normal size
  • Wider adjustable length
  • Comfortable hand grip
  • Ability to pack in backpack for air travel

For a long time I’ve been eyeing the Gossamer Gear’s LT4 trekking poles. There’s nothing but good reviews especially from ultralight trekkers. They are the lightest adjustable length graphite trekking poles, a mere 116g per pole. It is adjustable from 90cm to 140cm, 84cm when completely closed. For quite some time the LT4 had been out of stock, it was only recently I’ve noticed stock were in. Just short of submitting the order, I checked the length of my backpack, its way less than 84cm. What an idiot I’ve been! All this time too excited about getting the poles, I’ve forgot to check if they could be stowed in the backpack.

Is the poles stowage into the backpack important? For air travel I could simply use the poles travel tube. It means traveling with a backpack and the travel tube. I wasn’t that keen on that idea. Unwillingly I had to give up on the LT4, despite what an amazing gear it is.

Soon after I found this brand Fizan an Italian company founded in 1947, a popular brand in UK but almost unheard of in the States. Their compact 4 trekking poles seems to solve my problem. I purchased them from RacingThePlanet, great service and fast shipping. Definitely won’t be the last gear I buy from them.

Fizan Compact 4 specifications

  • Design – 4 sections telescopic
  • Weight – 169 grams/ 5.96 oz per pole
  • Max Length – 125cm
  • Min Length – 49cm
  • Shaft Material – Aluminium alloy 7001
  • Grip Material – Eva Grip

On my scale, both poles including basket and rubber tips weigh in at 378 grams / 13.3 oz. The grip is contoured and felt comfortable, not too skinny. The top of the grip is slightly curved, a good fit for the palms. This will be especially useful for palming, a technique used for negotiating steep descents.

Contoured foam grip

The baskets are fitted onto the poles by pushing them in, a very tight fit. There is a groove all round the pole that places the basket firmly in place.

50mm basket and rubber tip

Fizan trekking poles are unique in their locking mechanism. They don’t have ferrules around the joints as their jointing mechanism is completely enclosed inside the shaft of the pole, this saves weight.

No ferrules around the joints

The operation is exactly the same as a normal telescopic trekking poles. Twist to loosen, extend to length required and tighten. I’ve tried tighten them fairly light and rested my weight on it, the pole flex a little but no slip. Fizan warns about over tightening he section as it can damage the locking expander. The locking expander can be purchased online if replacement is required.

The locking mechanism

Here’s a closer look at the locking mechanism and all 4 sections of the trekking pole. To setup the pole to 120cm, adjust the first section (section with the white mechanism) to the stop line, and the second and third section (section with the blue and red mechanism) to the 120cm mark. There is no line to indicate the length, but I’ve found out by adjusting the section with the 120cm wordings visible seems to setup the pole exactly at the length.

As these poles will function as my tent poles as well, I’m please with it’s telescopic function and its weight. Once I’ve tested them outdoor, I’ll do a repost of its performance.

Leave a comment